Follow us on social networks

Tuscan Archipelago National Park

The Tuscan Archipelago National Park is the largest Marine Park in Europe. It consists of 7 islands: Elba, Capraia, Giannutri, Montecristo, Pianosa, Gorgona and Giglio. Far apart and different from each other in terms of geological formation and flora and fauna species, the islands are safeguarded and protected by the Park Authority.

From Capraia’s volcanic nature to the granite of Giglio and Elba, a wide geological variety influences the shape and landscape of each island. The most obvious example is the variety of coastline and seabed: from the beaches of Elba to the rocky cliffs of western Capraia –  these environments hide a myriad of plant and animal species that live in every nook and cranny.

Numerous remarkable protected sea birds, starting with the rare Corsican Seagull, make the Tuscan Archipelago Park an ideal place for bird watchers. Given the high number of dolphins, fin whales and sperm whales, the Archipelago has also been included in the International Cetacean Sanctuary.

In addition to bird watching and “sea watching”, the Tuscan Archipelago National Park offers a multitude of activities, such as walks and excursions to discover the islands’ flora and geological features, visits to ruins and archaeological sites, boat trips offering snorkelling and diving activities and visits to former penal colonies.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Related articles